Skip to main content

Sharing permissions

Sharing and collaboration are core tenets of the Hex platform.

You can use the Share menu in the upper right of your projects to manage permissions for a project. A project can be shared with individuals, a group of users (defined in Users & groups), or widely with the web. For each, you can specify the permissions allowed to shared users.

Project permissions

Users can have several levels of access to a Hex project:

Full Access

Grants full permissions on a project, including renaming and deleting the project, as well as sharing and managing project permissions.

Can Edit

Grants permission to comment on and modify any part of the Logic or published app of a project. Also grants ability to share and manage user project permissions (as long as this hasn’t been disabled by a "Full Access" user). "Can Edit" permissions restrict the ability to rename or delete the project.

tip

When "Full Access" or "Can Edit" project permissions are granted to a Hex user who is a Viewer, that user's permissions to the project will be automatically downgraded "Can View".

Can View

Grants permission to view and comment on any part of the project (including the Logic), but restricts ability to modify or share the project.

Users with "Can View" permission who are workspace Authors or Admins can duplicate a project (excluding data connection credentials), and will have "Full Access" permissions of the resulting new project.

App Only

Grants permissions to view and comment on only the published app, restricting access to the Logic view. "App Only" permissions also restrict the ability to duplicate, modify, or share the project.

Share with Guests

Guests will not be able to see any project that is not shared with them explicitly. This means that sharing a project with your workspace does not include Guest accounts and you will have to manually add Guests in order for them to view the project.

Public share permissions

Projects can be made available publicly by toggling on the Share to web option in the Share dialog. Anyone with the link to your project will be able to navigate to and interact with your project.

You have two options for the access permission for those with a link:

  • App only: Can only see published app
  • Can View: Can see Logic view and App Builder. Cannot edit or run project in Logic View.