Skip to main content

Create and manage projects

Create, delete, duplicate, tag, and otherwise manage your Hex projects.

info
  • The Community plan is limited to 3 projects.
  • Users will need the Editor or Admin role to create and manage projects.

Projects home

Your default landing page in Hex is the workspace Home. You can quickly find projects you recently viewed or starred.

Each section of the Projects page can be filtered by the category and status of projects, which are defined by workspace Admins.

You can also see a variety of metadata about each project, including your level of access, the project creator, the time of last edit, publication status, and total number of project views. In the All Projects list, projects can be sorted by either the date of most recent access or by its total number of views over all time, or in the last 7, 14, or 21 days.

Your Hex workspace provides a robust search engine that allows you to locate projects down to individual lines of code written within them. Select the workspace search bar or use the keyboard shortcut / to begin your search. Narrow your results down by using the filters at the top of the search modal.

Creating a new project

You can create projects in Hex from scratch or import them from .ipynb or .yaml files.

Create a project from scratch

Select the New project button on the Projects page to generate an empty project.

From here, you may name the project and add a description, status, and any categories. By default, projects will be created using a Medium compute profile, which offers 8 GB of memory and 2 CPUs. The compute profile can be changed from the project creation modal or via the Compute profile section of the Environment sidebar.

Upload an existing notebook

info

While we support upload of any .ipynb file, you may run into package-related issues while migrating your work from environment to environment. See the Package Management section for more details on configuring your environment in Hex.

You can upload any existing .ipynb (Jupyter Notebook) file into Hex. Since this file format typically stores the outputs from the last time it was executed, the outputs will often appear instantly in the project without needing to be re-run.

If you have an existing Hex project .yaml file, you can upload that using the Import button on the Projects home page as well.

Managing projects

Once you are inside the project, the project name dropdown offers several options for a project:

Rename

Users with Full Access project permission can rename a project. Additionally, users with the Admin or Manager role can rename any project they are able to view.

Duplicate

Users with Editor or Admin roles that have Can View or higher project access can duplicate the project. The new, duplicated project does not inherit any project sharing permissions from the original.

Export

There are two options for file export: .yaml or .ipynb. Projects can be exported by users with Can View project permission or higher. Learn more on how to use the file format options here.

Transfer project owner

Users with Full Access project permission, or the Admin or Manager role can transfer ownership of a project.

By default, the user who creates a project is designated as the project owner. While the creator can't be changed, the owner of a project can be transferred. The current owner of a project can be found via the Share dialog in the top right hand corner.

Transferring ownership of a project updates the user associated with this project throughout the UI. The new owner will be granted Full Access project permission to the project. No changes will be made to the previous owner's project permission¹.

Further, teams using Snowflake OAuth can use the Transfer owner functionality to update the user whose Snowflake credentials are used when editing. Learn more about Snowflake OAuth.

¹For teams using Snowflake OAuth without token sharing, the previous owner will be downgraded to Can View permission, since they can not share the new owner's token.

Add to collection

Users with any project permission can add a project to a collection that they are a manager of.

Learn more about adding projects to collections.

Archive

Users with Full Access project permission, or the Admin or Manager role can archive a project.

Learn more about archiving.

Move to trash

Users with Full Access project permission, or the Admin or Manager role can move projects to the trash.

Projects will remain in the trash for 7 days, at which point they will be permanently deleted. Any permanently deleted projects will be fully removed, along with all historical versions and published apps.

Clear outputs

This option is only available from the projects page. Clicking "Clear outputs" will clear the outputs from all cells in your project. This option is intended to be used in situations where a cell generates a very large output that crashes or overwhelms your browser. After clearing the project's outputs, it's recommended to avoid rerun the project in order to avoid regenerating the large output. Instead, identify the cell that generated the large output, and either delete or modify it before rerunning the project.